Nicki Heat, a Pop-tart

Nicki Heat, a novel supposedly written by the famed Richard Castle from the television show from the last name. I the television series Castle is portrayed as an accomplished novelist who just needs his muse, Kate Beckett. In the show he is suave and sophisticated, though a little arrogant. Of course the arrogance he had gained through several best sellers. But wait, isn’t this a book review?

My answer is:

Yes, it is. However, in order for you to understand the purpose of this book you must first understand the context in which it came along. You must first see that they gave it a lot of hype on the show, even going as far as to see Detective Beckett reading it in a bathroom stall to hide it from Castle himself. And then they show their reaction to the sequel and it was going to be made into a movie.

I have to say that this book is a really easy read. If you are sitting in an airport, waiting for a plane it may take anywhere from twenty to thirty minutes to read all 158 pages. It would ease the time by quickly, but you would still need something to keep your mind off of waiting when you finish.

I did notice that there were a couple of things that made me stop and go,

“What the hell did I just read?”

The only one of which I am going to tell you about in expressed detail. In this section Nikki is asking Ochoa to come up with a background check:

“Ochoa, how soon can you pull together a background check on our trophy widdow?”

“How’s first thing tomorrow?”

“Ok, but I was kind of hoping for first thing tomorrow.”

 

Okay, “Castle” tell me how this makes sense. This dialogue screams conspiracy in the book editing world. Ochoa suggested that he could get it by the next day, but instead of something that would suggest that Heat wanted the check sooner (something like “I needed it three hours ago”) she just says the same thing he said. I think Ochoa should feel pissed off that his superior took his idea in the first place. There are a few other little areas that made me stop and go “What the hell?” before moving on. According to Castle’s personality on the show he would be scraping over every little detail with a rusty spork and he would gouge his own eyeballs out with it before he published a horrid novel.

Now, before I give my final decision I thought I might define something for you. A “pop-tart book” is a book that has no real depth and no real creative twists to an over used plot. A pop-tart is only to read when there is absolutely nothing to do.

As a stand alone Nikki Heat is a pop-tart. As part of the show its an inside joke. I would strongly suggest that if you want to read it that you should watch the show, otherwise just leave it on the Barnes and Noble bookshelf.

 

About blackwinterrosethorn

I am an artist and a writer whose living in Virginia. I go to Hollins University and I am a double minor in Creative Writing and Music. I've been writing for about eleven or twelve years. I've been singing forever and I have been drawing and painting for four or five years. I am open to doing commissions and collaborative pieces. View all posts by blackwinterrosethorn

One response to “Nicki Heat, a Pop-tart

Leave a Reply

