The Ride Home

If she says one more thing about my “F” I swear I’m going to murder her in her sleep. I’ve only been out of school for a few minutes and Mom is already busting my chops. Doesn’t she know that math is my toughest subject? She should, I mean I told her. She knows I can’t multiply to save my life. Why is she staking so much on a single subject?

Shouldn’t she be taking a chance to find out that I’ve been bullied? That non one believes me when I report it? Shouldn’t take a chance to find out the teacher was taking advantage of half the class’ ignorance about the subject to berate us? I love my mother, I think. I’m not really sure how I feel. I know I used to. Of course that was back when I was eight.

I peer at my watch. Only a few minutes has passed. Why do I have to deal with her now? My plans for the weekend are ruined. There will be no watching TV until I pass out or hanging out with my Masque de Vampyre friends at Hot Topic.

“Don’t expect to go anywhere. All you have to do is get one fucking ‘A’ in math. What is wrong with you?” she growls. I roll my eyes. Like she cares. I know that she’s with another man. Someone to make my dad jealous. Like Dad would care. He stopped coming around years ago. I definitely hate him.

“I don’t give a shit,” I say. I’m used to her. Gotta be after living with her for nineteen years, my entire life. My mother doesn’t seem to care. Why would she? I’m just some kid she got stuck after the man she thought loved her walked out on her.

How the hell will I sneak to the Masque de Vampire? I enjoy going to the ball. A long, navy blue ballgown and the crystal chandelier. The ballroom is positively beautiful.

The ten minute drive home feels like six hours, like always. Maybe I should just move out. I can’t afford an apartment, but the excellent Vampyre Emperor would help me. I could stay at his hous until we can find a suitable place to live. Emperor Aron has many more resources than these Mortals, these Humans could ever have. Mom would freak if she knew I’m apart of this “strange” world about Vampyres and the beautiful exchange of blood.

Walking up the steps of our little, brown shack at four-fifteen in the afternoon seems more like a punishment than being locked in my room. When locked in, I’m left alone and I can escape. The shack has thin walls that can be knocked down just by knocking on them. I’ve done it before. A couple of times on accident, actually.

“Karmin, are you listening?”

“Yes, Mother.”

“Why are you being so antagonizing?”

“Good job, Mom. You actually used a word with more than three syllables.”

“For God’s sake, Karmin!” she gasped, closing our wonderfully thin front door.

“God has nothing to do with it,” I mumble.  The three steps to my room are nothing more than three seconds. Three seconds of our painfully pink kitchen that mom had decided at one point was the central part of our universe, though we have no stove or oven, just a sink and a microwave. The time it takes my mother to lock me in is about twenty minutes. My door opens towards the kitchen, but has no lock. So Mother wraps the chains around two posts that are about the same height as the door and locks the chains. The chains rattle as she pulls and yanks. She always forgets the window. As soon as the clanging stops I leap.

About blackwinterrosethorn

I am an artist and a writer whose living in Virginia. I go to Hollins University and I am a double minor in Creative Writing and Music. I've been writing for about eleven or twelve years. I've been singing forever and I have been drawing and painting for four or five years. I am open to doing commissions and collaborative pieces. View all posts by blackwinterrosethorn

16 responses to “The Ride Home

  • goldpreise in gramm

    It’s best to participate in a contest for one of the best blogs on the web. I will advocate this website!

  • goldpreis heute aktuell

    After examine a few of the weblog posts on your web site now, and I really like your manner of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark web site checklist and will likely be checking back soon. Pls take a look at my web site as nicely and let me know what you think.

  • invest liberty reserve

    An riveting discourse is couturier account. I reckon that you should pen author on this theme, it mightiness not be a inhibition human but mostly fill are not sufficiency to speak on specified topics. To the succeeding. Cheers like your The Ride Home Black Winter Rose Thorn's Writing Portfolio.

  • ninja jump apk

    An absorbing communication is designer comment. I reckon that you should pen many on this issue, it mightiness not be a preconception individual but mostly people are not sufficiency to utter on much topics. To the succeeding. Cheers like your The Ride Home Black Winter Rose Thorn's Writing Portfolio.

  • invest liberty reserve

    An interesting treatment is couturier report. I expect that you should indite much on this subject, it strength not be a prejudice master but mostly people are not enough to communicate on specified topics. To the succeeding. Cheers like your The Ride Home Black Winter Rose Thorn's Writing Portfolio.

  • Cari Knipper

    Hello. Mainly needed to place a brief mention and tell you that in fact I’ve enjoyed scanning your specific website and will be promoting it to my friends and family. Keep up the good work! Thanks.

  • LA Weight Loss

    I got what you destine, thanks for swing up. Woh I am pleased to conclude this website finished google. Thanks For Share The Ride Home Black Winter Rose Thorn's Writing Portfolio.

  • January Kuty

    I have recently started a blog, the information you offer on this site has helped me tremendously. Thank you for all of your time & work.

  • invest liberty reserve

    Wonderful goods from you, man. The Ride Home Black Winter Rose Thorn's Writing Portfolio I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely wonderful. I actually like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it wise. I can not wait to read much more from you. This is really a tremendous The Ride Home Black Winter Rose Thorn's Writing Portfolio informations.

  • invest liberty reserve

    Excellent goods from you, man. The Ride Home Black Winter Rose Thorn's Writing Portfolio I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just too excellent. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it wise. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is really a great The Ride Home Black Winter Rose Thorn's Writing Portfolio informations.

  • invest liberty reserve

    Excellent goods from you, man. The Ride Home Black Winter Rose Thorn's Writing Portfolio I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just too fantastic. I actually like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it wise. I can not wait to read far more from you. This is really a tremendous The Ride Home Black Winter Rose Thorn's Writing Portfolio informations.

  • invest liberty reserve

    Great goods from you, man. The Ride Home Black Winter Rose Thorn's Writing Portfolio I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just too magnificent. I actually like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it wise. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is really a wonderful The Ride Home Black Winter Rose Thorn's Writing Portfolio informations.

  • invest liberty reserve

    Fantastic goods from you, man. The Ride Home Black Winter Rose Thorn's Writing Portfolio I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely fantastic. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it smart. I cant wait to read much more from you. This is actually a great The Ride Home Black Winter Rose Thorn's Writing Portfolio informations.

  • invest liberty reserve

    Wonderful goods from you, man. The Ride Home Black Winter Rose Thorn's Writing Portfolio I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely great. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it sensible. I can’t wait to read far more from you. This is really a great The Ride Home Black Winter Rose Thorn's Writing Portfolio informations.

  • invest liberty reserve

    Fantastic goods from you, man. The Ride Home Black Winter Rose Thorn's Writing Portfolio I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just too fantastic. I really like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it wise. I can not wait to read much more from you. This is actually a tremendous The Ride Home Black Winter Rose Thorn's Writing Portfolio informations.

  • Berry Gentille

    Hello to every , as I am truly keen of reading this web site’s post to be updated on a regular basis. It carries fastidious stuff.

Leave a Reply

