Masters of Horror: Yay! Another Good One!

Two seasons. Twenty-six episodes total written by some of the best horror screenplay writers, or so the show says. Its a great concept and as a horror fanatic it seemed like the perfect series for me. I’ve seen it before, but it had been a few years, so when I found it on hulu I thought that I might as well watch it from the very beginning. The link is here. I reviewed each episodes for your enjoyment.

 

Masters of Horror is a series of one hour long stories that does not have a consecutive plot. If you are wondering how that’s possible, well there’s this cult classic from the 1960’s that also had been remastered when I was a child called The Outer Limits. Basically for one hour every week you get a scary or strange storytelling.

________________________________________________________

Season One Part Nine

Fair Haired Child

 

Episode nine is “Fair Haired Child.” It starts off in a school where a girl is abducted by a married couple whare are oddly suspicious. They find out all the important information and then throw her in the basement. She wakes up to the darkness and finally turns on the light after bumbling around a bit. She sees a blond boy hanging from a noose. She helps him down before they noticed the door. There are messages that warn against a fair haired child walking up. They discover the belongings of boys that had been in the same predicament as she has found herself in.

“Johnny” passes out after a time because he’s really the fair haired child and transforms into a monster that eats flesh. Our abductee decided she would hide instead of escape, but he finds her and she tries climbing away. He keeps searching for her over and over. She screamed like a moron.

He drowned so his parents resorted to black magic to bring him back. Its not an original plot, but it does have the unique twist. So he’s mute, but he told her though showing his urn and an evil book. So once a year they had to bring him someone for twelve years. Johnny has a crush on the girl and she seems almost willing to let him eat her. He changed suddenly and she screamed while he ate her intestines. The way this went it seems like a werewolf type story, but with a plant-like creature.

We got two flashbacks. One was a flashback and a day dream in one and the other was back to the day Johnny died. I understand the purpose of those, but they came at inopportune times. The spell was completed when he walked through the bones of the children who he killed. What they did backfired because Johnny did the same spell to bring back the girl, but he bargained it down to two adults. It is a pity the mother’s dress was destroyed, because I rather liked it. It was glorious and my favorite color. I do like that the girl gets to take her revenge. Its a nice little twist I didn’t see coming. Johnny and the girl get to walk off into the sunset. Not really, but you get my point.

Since this one actually got my heart thumping I give episode nine 5 out of 5 remotes.

 

About blackwinterrosethorn

I am an artist and a writer whose living in Virginia. I go to Hollins University and I am a double minor in Creative Writing and Music. I've been writing for about eleven or twelve years. I've been singing forever and I have been drawing and painting for four or five years. I am open to doing commissions and collaborative pieces. View all posts by blackwinterrosethorn

Leave a Reply

