Masters of Horror: Let’s Make the Human Race Extinct!

Two seasons. Twenty-six episodes total written by some of the best horror screenplay writers, or so the show says. Its a great concept and as a horror fanatic it seemed like the perfect series for me. I’ve seen it before, but it had been a few years, so when I found it on hulu I thought that I might as well watch it from the very beginning. The link is here. I reviewed each episodes for your enjoyment.

 

Masters of Horror is a series of one hour long stories that does not have a consecutive plot. If you are wondering how that’s possible, well there’s this cult classic from the 1960’s that also had been remastered when I was a child called The Outer Limits. Basically for one hour every week you get a scary or strange storytelling.

________________________________________________________

 

The Screwfly Solution

 

An out break of some sort has changed men so that they are killing women. It started in the south of America and started heading north. The government tries to stop it, but it doesn’t work. The main character’s husband sent her away for her safety and soon she has to keep moving from place to place to keep the human race alive. She is driven mad by her lack of human interaction and by the dwindling supplies. We have to assume that she died since the screen went into that annoying snow.

The actors did an amazing job, though the husband got really awkward in one scene. The plot was character driven and easy to follow. The dialogue was believable and when we finally got to see the “angels” the special effects were clean and not rough. I’m not sure how believable the religious cult being a symptom of an enzyme introduced to the human race to make us die out is. Though, how about those for just desserts? We make insect species start to die out because they don’t benefit us and that is what the “angels” did to us in this episode. The setting changed from time to time, but I really don’t think it was that bad. Some of it looked like they used the same set, as if they’d run out of money.

3 out of 5 remotes.

 

 

About blackwinterrosethorn

I am an artist and a writer whose living in Virginia. I go to Hollins University and I am a double minor in Creative Writing and Music. I've been writing for about eleven or twelve years. I've been singing forever and I have been drawing and painting for four or five years. I am open to doing commissions and collaborative pieces. View all posts by blackwinterrosethorn

6 responses to “Masters of Horror: Let’s Make the Human Race Extinct!

Leave a Reply

