Masters of Horror: The Family that Never Was

Two seasons. Twenty-six episodes total written by some of the best horror screenplay writers, or so the show says. Its a great concept and as a horror fanatic it seemed like the perfect series for me. I’ve seen it before, but it had been a few years, so when I found it on hulu I thought that I might as well watch it from the very beginning. The link is here. I reviewed each episodes for your enjoyment.

 

Masters of Horror is a series of one hour long stories that does not have a consecutive plot. If you are wondering how that’s possible, well there’s this cult classic from the 1960’s that also had been remastered when I was a child called The Outer Limits. Basically for one hour every week you get a scary or strange storytelling.

________________________________________________________

Season Two Part Two

Family

 

Harold is the main character in episode two of season two which is titled “Family.” Harold is looking to build the perfect family so he does so. Through murder. Some new neighbors move into the neighborhood he sets his sights on the young wife.

Celia and David have been going through a hard time for a while now, but they moved to the neighborhood to start over. They meet their new neighbor and things really get awkward. They say that they want to have another child so they start “trying.”

There were several things I loved about the episode. The first is that we get to see that not all serial killers have a mostly violent motive and the second thing I love was the twist at the end. The loud Christian music was really annoying and I really don’t think someone would spend money they probably don’t have to buy a house that is on the same street as the person who killed their family members. Since their kid was a missing person they probably would not have enough money. This episode didn’t even make me jump.

Episode two gets 1 our of 5 remotes.

About blackwinterrosethorn

I am an artist and a writer whose living in Virginia. I go to Hollins University and I am a double minor in Creative Writing and Music. I've been writing for about eleven or twelve years. I've been singing forever and I have been drawing and painting for four or five years. I am open to doing commissions and collaborative pieces. View all posts by blackwinterrosethorn

Leave a Reply

