A Novel Idea–Novel Chapter One Excerpt

For J-term at Hollins University I am taking a class that is similar to NaNoWriMo called A Novel Idea. It’s fun and we get to hang out. Anyway, here’s an excerpt of my novel.

            The bland, sterile, white walls had streaks of yellow-like coffee as I stared. Noises came from behind it as I strained against my restraints. A simple, leather strap held me against the cold, steel slate I was lying on. The walls seemed to change,  turning into an oval shaped opening. A man walked through the door and stood over me, his shoulders covered by a jacket made of some sort of white cotton. His hair was slicked back with some sort of gel, causing the grey to shine.

            “Miss Red, are you okay? I’m here to check your vital signs,” he said, taking my right wrist. “Your pulse is good, but your motor functions seem to be lacking.”

            “Where… Where am I?” I asked weakly. He ignored me, walking back towards the doorway. A button by the door flashed red before he pressed the button. The leather strap fell off, dropping to the ground on either side of the slab. I pulled myself into a sitting position, holding the thin, white gown to my chest.  In the line light you could see the rose colored buds on the apex of my bosom. My hair was longer than I remembered. It was down to my waist, surrounding a pillow.

            “Are you able to do anything, Miss Red?”

            “My name isn’t Red.”

            “It is now. This isn’t the world you know, Miss Red.”

            “What do you mean?”

            “You will know when Carolina debriefs you,” the man said, walking over to another wall. “You’ll need some clothes. If you press this button it’ll dress you in the appropriate clothing.”

            He walked back to where I sat on the slab and helped me off of it. I stumbled, my knees started to give out as I attempted to walk towards the wall. He had to sweep in and practically carry me by my armpits. The device was wrapped around my waist and shoulders as soon as the man pressed the button. The gown was removed by metal hands and some sort of bosom holding contraption was hooked onto my bare breasts. The metal dug into my flesh like needles pierces you before a shot. A metal cup wrapped itself around my waist and it was then I realized that my left arm was missing below the elbow. I strained to see past it, but the machine pulled my arm into the wall and when I could pull it out I had a gun attached to my elbow.

            A fur wrap entangled itself around my waist and a green, cotton, midriff showing tank  top placed itself on my top. A bone necklace attacked itself to my neck, tying itself tightly. A bone cuff attached itself to my upper arm and soon I had an anklet as well. A second necklace encircled my neck, taking form of a choker collar. A pair of boots laced themselves up to my knees with fur lining. All the fur were black with silver streaks. The machine spat me out right into the man’s arms. He helped me walk out of the room, heading towards the sign that read “Leaving the Isolation Chamber” in bright, red, block letters.

            A door to the right side, almost invisible against the metal wall that was just a few shades darker than the opening, opened. The man lead me into a room with a single, white, hard, plastic chair right in the center of the harsh, metal and sterile rooms. He sat me down on the chair before walking right out. A few moments later a woman walked in with large hair and brightly colored make up.

About blackwinterrosethorn

I am an artist and a writer whose living in Virginia. I go to Hollins University and I am a double minor in Creative Writing and Music. I've been writing for about eleven or twelve years. I've been singing forever and I have been drawing and painting for four or five years. I am open to doing commissions and collaborative pieces. View all posts by blackwinterrosethorn

10 responses to “A Novel Idea–Novel Chapter One Excerpt

Leave a Reply

