Breaking through Writer’s Block

The following tips are a combination of the best techniques online as well as what helps me out.

Listening to music

  1. I find that if I can’t figure out what to write I will often pull of Pandora and just listen to the kind of music my characters would listen to. Sometimes I make a list of what bands who would like who.

                                                              i.      i.e: Li-On likes Halestorm, Linkin Park, Seether, Puddle of Mudd, Paramore, and Evanescene.

                                                            ii.      i.e: Hyun prefers Seether, Evanescene, Christina Aguilera, and BoA.

An Outline

  1. I know that everyone says to use a full outline, but I’ve found that it doesn’t really help. A set outline doesn’t help me write, which is why I’ve often just waited until I’ve finished a paper in school to write one. However I have found that if I can’t write something I do skip a head with a few chapters, staying two or three ahead and have two things I want to happen mentioned in brief details. Patty gave me this idea.

                                                              i.      i.e: Chapter Eleven-Rehabilitation of Hyun and Li-On + August Jones makes an appearance.

  1. Writing Excercises
    1. Noticing that I often grow tired of writing my novel, I’ll take a chance to take a breather and write something else. I did that yesterday, actually. I wrote a review of the new show Alcatraz and put it up on my online writing portfolio.  I found that I wasn’t bored with writing my novel any more.
    2. www.wordclay.com says to “Take a few minutes, step away from the project that has you sweating, and write something for fun. These exercises can range anywhere from using a word randomly selected to detailing the dream you had the previous evening to the quirky how-did-this-green-umbrella-get-in-this-room explanations.”

                                                              i.      I’m giving you homework to relax by:

                                                                         i. Take the following words and create a piece with them:

                                                                                1. Bicycle,

                                                                                2. Pizza,

                                                                               3. Needle,

                                                                               4. Cow,

                                                                               5. Boo

Your Audience

  1. If you haven’t picked who you’re writing to, you might want to figure it out. Your audience (or in my case my roommate) wants to find out what’s going to happen just as much as you do. If its not fun, then they aren’t going to find it fun, so yes add the random brothel until absolutely necessary. You’ll be able to figure it out.

Set Reasonable Writing Goals

  1. On the days you have absolutely no inspiration, don’t set your goals quite so high. Don’t expect to get ahead on those days. Just try to get the 1667 words you need or if it’s less to get to the next day’s goal, reach that. Don’t try to write 3000 words if you just aren’t inspired.

Move Around

  1. As writers, we end up spending about 95% of the time sitting in front of a computer, staring into the screen. Try getting up and moving around. Even a few minutes to walk around the local park or garden can get your blood moving. The more blood you move around your body, the more gets sent to your brain.

Rest Hours!

  1. Since this is a nanowrimo sort of class, you can’t really give it a rest for a day or two, instead take a couple of hours and do something fun. Do something that’ll get your blood pumping or cooled, depending on what you’re writing.

A Buddy System

  1. Just like when you were on a field trip and needed a “buddy” you need one on the road to the finished product. Use another writer or a critique group (coughcoughourclasscoughcough) to push through the block. You need someone who will be professional about your work, so friends don’t work unless they are also hardcore writers.

Warm Up

  1. Takes some time—outside of class and before you start your night writing—to free-write. Its just taking some time to put down whatever comes to mind. Its warm-up and might only be used as such, but you might write something that’ll give you a boost in your novel.

Flexibility

  1. You have to be absolutely willing to scratch out or burn ideas, sections, or even chapters that aren’t working. This can help you break the block and start writing again.

Thank you for reading and if you want more information my sources are below.

About blackwinterrosethorn

I am an artist and a writer whose living in Virginia. I go to Hollins University and I am a double minor in Creative Writing and Music. I've been writing for about eleven or twelve years. I've been singing forever and I have been drawing and painting for four or five years. I am open to doing commissions and collaborative pieces. View all posts by blackwinterrosethorn

10 responses to “Breaking through Writer’s Block

  • Shannan Gilomen

    I just want to say I am new to weblog and certainly savored this web-site. Very likely I’m want to bookmark your blog post . You really come with outstanding articles and reviews. Thank you

  • Sonny Disano

    I just want to tell you that I’m very new to blogs and honestly enjoyed your web site. Very likely I’m going to bookmark your site . You surely have fabulous stories. Thanks for sharing your webpage.

  • Nan Andre

    There are actually a number of details like that to take into consideration. That could be a nice level to bring up. I provide the ideas above as general inspiration but clearly there are questions like the one you bring up the place crucial factor will likely be working in trustworthy good faith. I don?t know if finest practices have emerged round things like that, but I’m positive that your job is clearly identified as a good game. Both boys and girls really feel the influence of only a moment’s pleasure, for the rest of their lives.

  • Queenie Bamberger

    I in addition to my buddies ended up going through the nice tips and hints located on your web page and quickly I got a terrible feeling I had not expressed respect to the blog owner for those tips. The women were definitely absolutely joyful to study them and have in effect in truth been tapping into those things. Thank you for genuinely really kind and then for pick out this form of essential issues millions of individuals are really desperate to be informed on. My personal sincere regret for not saying thanks to you sooner.

  • Merri Leonesio

    I simply wanted to say thanks once more. I’m not certain the things I would’ve worked on without those secrets shared by you concerning that topic. Completely was the terrifying setting in my circumstances, however , noticing a specialized approach you treated that forced me to weep for joy. I will be grateful for the support as well as sincerely hope you comprehend what an amazing job that you’re accomplishing instructing many others with the aid of your blog. Probably you have never met all of us.

  • Floria Ramkissoon

    There’s noticeably a bundle to learn about this. I assume you made sure good points in features also.

  • Valeri Cogill

    excellent post, very informative. I wonder why the other experts of this sector don’t notice this. You should continue your writing. I’m sure, you have a huge readers’ base already!

Leave a Reply

